Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Important

For more information about the new email service, please look here. If you are having issues accessing email on your client please submit a help desk at https://cns.utexas.edu/help (make sure to provide a good phone number). While you are waiting on a tech to respond to you, please temporarily try to access your email via the web interface https://outlook.office365.com/owa/utexas.edu .

 

Office 365 uses similar technology to the current on campus setup (AEMS) so moving your mailbox is just a matter of ITS moving from one server to another. There will be a brief period of disruption for each person as their mailbox is moved. In addition you will need to be use a new server name and username format in cases where you find that you have to manually enter email account information. 

The following will happen while your mailbox is in the process of migrating to Office 365

    1. Your mailbox will be briefly unavailable while it is in transit
    2. New incoming email will be held in a queue while your mailbox is moved and will be delivered to your mailbox once its migration completes

You will experience the following when you try to access your email for the first time after your mailbox migrates

    1. You will need to re-setup your email profiles on smart phone email and some desktop applications
    2. You will need to use slightly different information when configuring your email settings or using OWA from now on
    3. If you had saved connections to shared mailboxes and calendars you will be prompted to re-log into them again and re save your credentials

During  mailbox migration

Your mailbox will be briefly unavailable while it is in transit

Most mailboxes will be offline for less than five minutes, while very large mailboxes may be off-line for up to a half hour. If you are try to access your mailbox when it is in transit you will receive a message that your mailbox is inaccessible. If you are using Microsoft Outlook, once the move completes you will receive a message telling you a change to your mailbox has occurred requiring you to restart your mailbox. Most other email applications will not provide any such message. In those cases, you should simply wait ten minutes before trying again.

New incoming email will be held in a queue while your mailbox is moved and will be delivered to your mailbox once its migration completes

The local and Office 365 servers always receive mail in an incoming queue before delivering mail to the appropriate mailbox. At the point when your mailbox is unavailable during its migration, the server will simply hold your incoming email in this queue until your mailbox becomes available once again. Once your mailbox becomes available on the new Office 365 server your incoming queued mail will be delivered to that mailbox.

What Changed?

 

After your mailbox has been migrated

Mac Mail Post Migration Process

Mac Outlook 2011 Post Migration Process - It is highly recommended that you contact CNS IT to get the latest OS and Outlook 2016

iPhone/iPad Post Migration Process

Windows Outlook 2010 / 2013 Post Migration Process

Android Post Migration Process

If you had saved connections to shared mailboxes and calendars you will be prompted to re-log into them again and re save your credentials

In Outlook if you routinely view mail folders or calendars shared from other people's mailboxes you may have noticed you were able to do this without having to enter your username and password each time you accessed those resources. This is because your email client saved your credentials. Those saved credentials were lost when your mailbox moved. This means that after your mailbox migrates and you successfully log into it, you may still receive some password prompts even after you mailbox seems to have already loaded. This is because Outlook is prompting you to recreate each connection to a shared mailbox .Just enter your username and password and select the option remember your credentials.

This will happen  whenever your mailbox moves  or  whenever the mailbox to which you are connecting moves The first time you relaunch your email client after either of these events you will be prompted to enter your password as the server attempts to recreate each connection.You will not know which connections the server is attempting to recreate; you will just see the same prompt for each  connection  that needs to be re-created. For example, if you have 2 connections to calenders in 2 other mailboxes and a connection to a shared inbox in a 3rd mailbox, then you will be prompted 3 times to re-enter your password. The prompt will look similar to the image below. You should check the box to  Remember my credentials  so that you won't be prompted again for each connection the next time you start Outlook unless your mailbox or the other mailbox moves again.

To minimize the number of times you need to go through this, we have identified mailboxes that have these cross connections and will move them together in the same batch wherever possible. This means you will just have to go through this only once in most cases instead of once when your mailbox moves and then again as each connected mailbox later moves. If you randomly receive a mailbox prompt days later after you have moved, it is probably because some other mailbox to which you are connected has not moved until then.

 

This wiki article was copied and modified with permission from the McCombs School of Business (McCombs Office 365: What to expect when your mailbox moves).

  • No labels