Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

What is BeyondTrust?

LAITS uses a program called Beyond Trust BeyondTrust (formerly known as Bomgar) to provide remote support to Mac computers. Beyond Trust

BeyondTrust is an application that allows support staff to remotely access a user’s computer while following industry-standard protocols to prevent unauthorized access. In particular, we are using Beyond Trust LAITS uses BeyondTrust as our standardized remote support tool as it provides central logging of our support technicians' access to our customers computers.

In order to run Beyond Trust on newer Macs, the following settings need to be manually enabled in System Preferences:

Navigate to System Preferences > Security & Privacy

Image Removed

Click on the Privacy tab, and

Enabling BeyondTrust

If you've received a new Apple computer from LAITS or have had an Apple computer reimaged by LAITS, since March 2020, BeyondTrust is already enabled on your computer with the appropriate permissions.

However, if you have recently upgraded your the operating system on your Apple computer, MacOS, from an earlier version, such as Yosemite, Sierra, or High Sierra, to MacOS Mojave or MacOS Catalina, BeyondTrust will require you to manually grant it some permissions in order to run properly.

To grant these permissions:

  1. Launch "System Preferences"
  2. Navigate to "Security & Privacy"
    Image Added
  3. Click on the "Privacy" tab
  4. In the list of permissions on the left-hand side of the window, scroll to and click on "Screen Recording"
  5. In the list of applications on the right-hand side of the window, ensure “Remote Support Customer Client” is checked

...


  1. Image Added

Image Removed

...

Info
LAITS chose Beyond Trust because of its adherence to industry-standard Privileged Access Management controls. Specifically, the software limits access only to a limited set of users, and creates a log of any remote access to computers.

...

LAITS' policy is to prohibit remote access to a customer’s machine when the user is logged in without getting their permission.