Voice mail messages are set to expire after 30 days at the time they are first played. This applies whether they have been deleted (moved to the Trash folder) or not. If you frequently forward messages to other subscribers, copies are left in your Sent folder; these apply as well. Unplayed messages expire after 180 days.
Message expiry can be reset for played messages only: Log into your account online (voicemail.its.utexas.edu), select message(s) to be reset and click the Re-save icon.
Note for subscribers who forward their voice messages to email: Depending on the volume of messages you receive, your combined Inbox, Sent and Trash folders could eventually reach full capacity (disk quota is about 200 minutes of messages) and stop taking messages. To prevent that, log into UTVM periodically (perhaps monthly or weekly depending on your usage) and delete messages from the Inbox, Sent and Trash folders. See below:
A "Full Mailbox" error can play for callers even when the Inbox has little or nothing in it. When you delete messages, they go into the Trash bin but are not finally deleted until they reach their 30-day expiration. Unread messages expire after 180 days.
To check and clear all messages, log in online at voicemail.its.utexas.edu using your 5-digit mailbox number and PIN:
Back to home page