UPDATE: The University Wiki Service is in a degraded state.
The UWS Team is actively working to fully restore service.
For more information please visit the ServiceNow Alerts & Outages page
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Delete a file from your Computer

There are two steps to permanently deleting a file from your computer.

Step 1: Send the file to the Recycle Bin.

You have three optoins for doing this.

  • Drag it to the Recycle bin on your desktop.
  • Right click on a file and select Delete.
  • Select the file and hit the Delete key on your keyboard. When asked if you want to send the file to the Recycle Bin, click Yes.

To send multiple files to the Recycle Bin, you may select multiple items and use any of the methods above.

Until you empty the Recycle Bin, your file is not truly deleted. You can still recover it at any time.

Step 2: Empty the Recycle Bin

  1. Go to your Desktop.
  2. Double click on the Recycle Bin.
  3. On the left, click Empty Recycle Bin.

Delete a file from a shared network drive

There are two ways you can delete a file from a shared network drive. Files deleted from a shared network drive will not go to the Recycle Bin on your computer. If you mistakenly delete a file, it may be impossible to recover.

  • Right click on a file and select Delete.
  • Select the file and hit the Delete key on your keyboard. When asked if you want to send the file to delete the file, click Yes.

Delete a file from SharePoint

  1. Hover your mouse over the file.
  2. Click on the arrow that appears to the right of the file name.
  3. Select Delete.
  4. When asked if you want to send the file to the site Recycle Bin, click Yes.
  5. Click on the Recycle Bin link in the left column.
  6. Check the box next to the file you want to delete.
  7. Click the Delete Selection button.
  8. Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the file.

Delete a file from WebSpace

  1. Log into your WebSpace account.
  2. Check the box to the left of the file you want to delete.
  3. Click the Delete button at the top of the page.
  4. The file has now been moved to the Trash.
  5. Click the Empty Trash link on the left.
  6. Click Yes to permanently delete the file.