Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 8 Next »


Check Your Backup Status

Your device should show "backup complete" for the destination UTBackup Cloud. This image shows an active device backing up to the Code42 cloud and the the on premise UTBack Master server. 

Windows

In the lower-right corner of the screen, click the Code42 icon  Code42 Windows menu bar icon

  1. Code42 Crashplan can be found in the Windows Start menu.
  2. There's a list of your devices, the top device is the one you are currently using (This Device).
  3. Select Details to check your backup status and Manage Files.

macOS

  1. Mac: In the top-right corner of the screen, click the Code42 icon Code42 Mac menu bar icon

  2. Mac: UTBackup can be found in your Applications list under CrashPlan.
  3. Sign in to Code42 with your EID and password
  4. There's a list of your devices, the top device is the one you are currently using (This Device).
  5. Select Details to check your backup status and Manage Files.




Steps to Manage Files

  1. Go to Manage Files. 
    1. Code42 app version 6.8.3 and later: Click Manage Files.
    2. Code42 app version 6.8.2 and earlier: Click Details > Manage Files.
  2. Navigate to the drive, folder, or files that you want to add or remove, then:
    1. Deselect the check box next to any item you want to delete from your backup.
    2. Select an empty box to add an item to your backup.
    3. A minus sign deselected indicates that a subfolder within this folder is selected for backup. New subfolders within the folder will not be automatically added to your backup file selection.
    4. A check mark selected indicates that this folder is selected for backup. New subfolders within the folder will be automatically added to your backup file selection.manage files
  3. Click Save.
    If you deselected any files or folders, the Delete Files from Backup warning displays.
    1. If applicable, select I understand to confirm you want to delete deselected files from your backup.
    2. If applicable, select Delete.
      After changing the file selection, the Code42 app synchronizes the files selected for backup with the files already backed up to that destination.




UTBackup Policy Information

Wiki page: UT Cloud Backup Essential Information

On September 1st of 2019, the UTBackup service will adopt the following management practices:

  • Active Device policy (device deactivated after 6 months of no server contact)
    1. Devices that have not contacted the UTBackup service in six months or longer shall be deactivated automatically (the current practice depends on TSCs to manually deactivate stagnant devices).  For example, if a device has not had server contact from March 1, 2019 on, it will be deactivated on September 1, 2019.
  • Cold Storage policy (60 days data retention in cold storage for deactivated devices, then data is deleted)
    1. Deactivated devices shall have their data placed in cold storage for 60 days; any data in cold storage over 60 days will be deleted automatically (the current default cold storage policy is 5 days, with deletion of cold storage data aged over 5 days old).  For example, if a device is deactivated on September 1, 2019, data is retained until October 31, 2019.
  • Active User policy (user deactivated if not associated with an active device)
    1. Users that have no active devices (except TSCs) shall be deactivated automatically (the current user management practice depends on TSCs to manually deactivate inactive users; user accounts can always be reactivated by TSCs when needed


  • No labels